Mission Accomplished

On May 1, 1945, Adolf Hitler was pronounced dead.

Sixty-six years later, I got spaghetti sauce on my shorts. I watched my Detroit Red Wings fall behind 2-0 in the series to the San Jose Sharks. My NBA Playoff and NHL Playoff picks went a combined 0-4. I struggled at the driving range. And, I got spanked in FIFA 11 by an embarrassing score.

For those of you who know me, it would not surprise you if I said I was ticked off. Yet, when I reflected on May 1, 2011, I wasn’t upset at all.

This blog post is not about sports. For those of you who know me, this is probably extremely shocking. I don’t often stray away from sports. I love sports and I love to write about sports. Perfect combo. It takes a lot for me to write about something other than sports, but  May 1, 2011 deserves it.

I know people die everyday. I realize there are tragedies and disasters across the world everyday. The tragedy that occurred on September 11, 2001 was something I could have never imagined.

There is something about the proximity of the event. There is something about the ever-lasting images of people trying to save their lives. There is something about the images of the Twin Towers collapsing. There is something about the moment of silence every September 11th remembering all the men, women and children lost that day.

I will never forget September 11, 2001.

I remember the principal making an announcement canceling recess due to “the spraying of wasps.” I remember not much longer after that, getting picked up from school by my stepdad. I remember walking inside and the first thing I saw was a plane flying through the World Trade Centers. I remember going into my room and sitting on my table two feet away from the TV watching in disbelief. That memory is forever burned in my brain.

On May 1, 2011, Osama bin Laden was officially pronounced dead. Nine years, 7 months and 20 days after 9/11, justice was done.

I will never forget May 1, 2011.

Today is definitely a day to celebrate. The reactions across the country were amazing. The chants of “USA! USA! USA!”, the singing of the “Star Spangled Banner,” and “God Bless America” sent chills down my spine.

The death of Osama bin Laden does not mark the end of terrorism or erase past tragedies, but it does give a sign of hope. For so many years, we searched and searched and could not find Bin Laden but we did not give up. Our troops were persistent and they have succeeded.

Along with a day of celebration, it is also a day of remembrance. A day to remember all the victims lost. A day to remember all the people affected and the effect September 11th has had on our country.

Today, I thank all the men and women fighting for our country. I appreciate what you do on a daily basis that allows me to live the life I do today. I am beyond grateful for the freedoms I have and cannot imagine life without them. To all the men and women fighting for our country, you are the true heroes of the United States. God Bless America and GO USA!

Here are some links worth checking out:

New York Times

New York Times Picture 

Chicago Tribune

Ohio State University via @Tayeddy14

Penn State University via @jakemkaplan

Maryland University via @kmurph32

3 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Everything Else

3 responses to “Mission Accomplished

  1. Wow! Amazing! Wonderful job.

  2. linda goodman

    Love this! I’m very proud of you!

  3. Rob Dacey

    Well Said Justin! Very moving post!

Leave a Reply

